03.02.17 Some Things I Learned About Dementia – Not Exactly a Walk in the Park: A Peek into Life with Dementia/Alzheimer’s

I  found this on http://blog.thealzheimerssite.com. From experience, I can say this is very much what life in the world of dementia can be like.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to havedementia? Maybe you’d like to be able to see the world through the eyes of someone you know who has Alzheimer’s to help you better understand and care for them. Or maybe you’re just passionately curious about the many unique perspectives this world has to offer, one of which is the viewpoint of a person with severe memory problems.

In the video below, you can step into the shoes of a woman with Alzheimer’s and go for a little walk.

One shocking thing we learned in the video is that the woman’s memory seems to fade and return (or vice versa) within seconds. One moment she is lucid and independent and decides to head home on her own by way of a short cut. The next moment, she turns the corner and is completely lost and terrified. Her physical reaction to the sudden memory loss is eye-opening.

Her comment at 2:20 is what really got us thinking about what it’s like to have Alzheimer’s.

17

Please come back next time when I’ll share more topics about dementia.  If you want to receive an email whenever I post a blog (I write about other things, not just Alzheimer’s) find the “FOLLOW” box which is usually to the right hand side somewhere, enter your email and respond when the confirmation email is sent to you.

If you are in need of prayer for yourself, in your role as a caregiver, or if you have any specific questions please send me a comment with whatever information you want to share or ask about. I’ll say again that I’m not expert, but I probably experienced with my mom a lot of things you’re going through and will try my best to help. If I don’t know the answer I will tell you I don’t know. I’ll never judge, I’ve been judged enough to last a life time and would never do that to someone else. My email address is rosalyn@selu.edu if that is an easier way to communicate.

Until next time,

14100495_1255554271152473_7125960990015570137_n

cooltext1838781539

Click on the links below to go there!

Dora and the Explorers published randomly

Wacky Wonderful Wednesdays published every Wednesday

Leave a Reply

