12.06.16 My dementia and new blog posts

I am writing to ask for prayers, for me.  My dementia has recently begun to get much worse.  I haven’t shared too much about me recently but this is where I am right now, with mushy brain.

Mushy brain is obviously not a technical term but how it feels when my brain is required to function at a higher level than normal.  Such as when we gather with family for Thanksgiving or other visits with people we know well.  These type of events take so much brain function that afterwards there’s nothing left.  I make mistakes in simple things that then causes me sadness because it is a sign my dementia is worsening and I wind up crying and wanting it all to stop.   While some may experience this after a hard week at work followed by a hard weekend with little rest, this is totally different.  I can rest all week and weekend and then spend two hours visiting and I’m mush.

A dementia person’s brain goes through cycling when they dip into a low functioning time like I am going through right now.  Then they return to a lower than previously but more normal plateau status which last for a while.  The more often they cycle to the low functioning time indicates the disease is progressing.

Back in September I put together a series of blog posts from a wonderful web page I found then.  Their information is fresh and I think quite helpful but I forgot about getting them published.

The next few weeks I will be sharing each of them while I can still do this blog.  I may be around many more years but right now it just doesn’t feel like it.

Prayers, please my friends.  As always my God is a big God and I believe He continues to wrap His arms around me and uses what I am experiencing and this blog for His Glory!

I’ll post the first of the new blogs tomorrow.

17

Please come back next time when I’ll share more topics about dementia.  If you want to get an email whenever I post a blog (I write about other things, not just Alzheimer’s) find the “FOLLOW” box which is usually to the right hand side somewhere, enter your email and respond when the confirmation email is sent to you.

If you are in need of prayer for yourself, in your role as a caregiver, or if you have any specific questions please send me a comment with whatever information you want to share or ask about. I’ll say again that I’m not expert, but I probably experienced with my mom a lot of things you’re going through and will try my best to help. If I don’t know the answer I will tell you I don’t know. I’ll never judge, I’ve been judged enough to last a life time and would never do that to someone else. My email address is rosalyn@selu.edu if that is an easier way to communicate.

Until next time,

11742649_903496586385239_745188007965861370_n

cooltext1838781539

Click on the links below to go there!

Dora and the Explorers published randomly

Wacky Wonderful Wednesdays  published every Wednesday

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

