Some Things I Learned About Alzheimer’s 02.13.15

always show kindnessI posted a blog last Friday so I hadn’t planned to post one today.  HOWEVER, I saw an amazing video that needs to be shared now, not later.  Actually two videos by the same person.  I posted this all on Wednesday on my personal blog because I felt it important enough to share with the many people who follow that blog.  Here it is below:

darker-purple-fancy-line-md

I know this is not my Alzheimer’s blog but this is so important to me that I wanted to share it on both blogs. Alzheimer’s or any form of dementia, is H.O.R.R.I.B.L.E but rarely do you hear anyone express the realities of it. When I watched this video just now it resonated such truth to me that I just had to share.

After I watched this, I wanted to know how her mom is doing now. I haven’t found much but did come across the most amazing video of this young woman giving a speech at Biola University. In it she describes the spiritual journey she’s gone through discovering God’s character and developing a relationship with Him. This combined with her talking about her mom’s condition is beyond inspiring. She is a very young caregiver that all caregivers can relate to and others of us can learn from. The first video is part of the second one so you can speed through that if you want to but most of the second video is new stuff.

With what I’ve experienced over the last few years with my brain, it’s become important to me for people to understand brain deterioration, whatever the cause. Feel free to share today’s blog with those you love.

I just had a friend write me about a situation she finds herself in with her mom who is showing signs of dementia. While I don’t know answers to everything I will always be glad to share things we did or tried with mama that were successful (or not successful so you don’t do that!) in a similar or same situation. Please don’t ever hesitate to reach out to someone else for help or comfort while dealing with this despicable disease.

1958090_770136129721286_2157984721598649208_nYa’ll come back now, ya’ hear!

darker-purple-fancy-line-md

Please come back next time when I’ll share some topics about end of life matters.  If you want to get an email whenever I post a blog (I write about other things, not just Alzheimer’s) find the “FOLLOW” box which is usually to the right hand side somewhere, enter your email and respond when the confirmation email is sent to you.

If you are in need of prayer for yourself, in your role as a caregiver, or if you have any specific questions please send me a comment with whatever information you want to share or ask about. I’ll say again that I’m not expert, but I probably experienced with my mom a lot of things you’re going through and will try my best to help. If I don’t know the answer I will tell you I don’t know. I’ll never judge, I’ve been judged enough to last a life time and would never do that to someone else. My email address is rosalyn@selu.edu if that is an easier way to communicate.

Until next time,

ephesians 5 2

cooltext1838781539

Click on the links below to go there!

Dora and the Explorers published randomly

Wacky Wonderful Wednesdays  published every Wednesday

Leave a Reply

