Some Things I Learned About Alzheimer’s 12.12.14

Christine Bryden: I have Mid-stage Dementia. Here’s What I truly Need.

t081026-Through-W3648The video below is exceptional. I can share what we experienced caring for my mom, but Christine Bryden has this disease and is doing everyone a service by sharing what she’s learned and experienced.

Christine Bryden was diagnosed with dementia at the age of 46. At the time, she was a single mother with 3 girls, as well as a senior executive to the Australian Prime Minister. Six years into her dementia, see her talk about what it feels like and what you can do to help.

She, so very well, explains what Alzheimer’s patients truly need. The video is almost 30 minutes long but I encourage everyone to watch it. Caregivers, family members and friends can learn so much from this. Her advice is exceptional, especially since she’s actually living the life of Dementia.

I have not read her book Dancing with Dementia so I can’t recommend it. However, if you want to check it out, here’s a link to where you can purchase it from Amazon for $18.32 at:

http://astore.amazon.com/alzheimerswee-20/detail/184310332X

Click on the photo below to watch the video.

christine bryden

I first saw this on Alzheimer’s and Dementia Weekly, a great resource. I will share some of their articles here but they have so much more than I can pass along so I encourage you to check it out! You can subscribe to receive weekly emails loaded with information. Their website is:

http://www.alzheimersweekly.com/

indexAn informational document called “The 10 Rights of People with Dementia” seems to go well with the video above and can be viewed by clicking on the 10 graphic below.

index Romans 8:37-39: “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

index
Until next time, my friends:BE LOVING

cooltext1838781539

Click on the links below to go there!

Dora and the Explorers published randomly

Wacky Wonderful Wednesdays  published every Wednesday

Leave a Reply

